December Online Book Club: Wishin’ and Hopin’

December Online Book Club: Wishin’ and Hopin’

Online Book Club: What is it?

Love the idea of a book club, but you don’t have time to attend meetings? No problem!

We won’t have meetings, but anyone who reads or listens to that month’s title, either with physical copies or digital copies, can participate in our online discussion boards on  Facebook and our blog posts.

If you’re busy, but love to read, this could be the perfect Book Club for you! Join us and keep the conversation going!

The December Online Book Club title is Wishin’ and Hopin’: A Christmas Story by Wally Lamb.

Available as:

Wishin’ and Hopin’: A Christmas Story by Wally Lamb

About Wishin’ and Hopin’: A Christmas Story

From Hoopla:

Wally Lamb, the beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Hour I First Believed, I Know This Much Is True, and She’s Come Undone, delivers a holiday treat with Wishin’ and Hopin’-an unforgettable novella that captures the warmth and joy of the holiday season. Poignant and hilarious, in a vein similar to Jean Shepherd’s A Christmas Story and David Sedaris’s The Santaland Diaries, Lamb’s Christmas tale focuses on a feisty parochial school fifth-grader named Felix Funicello-a distant cousin of the iconic Annette!

About Wally Lamb

wally lamb
Wally Lamb

From Amazon:

Wally Lamb’s first two novels, She’s Come Undone and I Know This Much Is True were # 1 New York Times bestsellers, New York Times Notable Books of the Year, and featured titles of Oprah’s Book Club.

I Know This Much Is True was a Book of the Month Club main selection and the June 1999 featured selection of the Bertelsman Book Club, the national book club of Germany.

Lamb is also the editor of the nonfiction anthologies Couldn’t Keep It to Myself: Testimonies from Our Imprisoned Sisters and I’ll Fly Away, collections of autobiographical essays which evolved from a writing workshop Lamb facilitates at Connecticut’s York Correctional Institute, a maximum-security prison for women.

He has served as a Connecticut Department of Corrections volunteer from 1999 to the present.

Wally Lamb is a Connecticut native who holds Bachelors and Masters Degrees in teaching from the University of Connecticut and a Master of Fine Arts in Writing from Vermont College. Lamb was in the ninth year of his twenty-five-year career as a high school English teacher at his alma mater, the Norwich Free Academy when he began to write fiction in 1981. He has also taught writing at the University of Connecticut, where he directed the English Department’s creative writing program. 

Readalikes for Wishin’ and Hopin’

Standing in the Rainbow by Fannie Flagg
The Christmas Star by Donna VanLiere
the friday night knitting club
The Friday Night Knitting Club by Kate Jacobs

Conclusion

Remember to tell us what you think! Comment on this post or on Facebook and let us know your thoughts about Wishin’ and Hopin’ a Christmas Story.

You might also enjoy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *