100 years of the Newbery Award

In 2022, we’re celebrating 100 years of Newbery! The John Newbery Medal is awarded annually to outstanding children’s literature by the Association for Library Services to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association.

About the Newbery Medal

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery.

In 1921 Frederic G.Melcher had the Newbery Medal designed by RenĂ© Paul Chambellan. The bronze medal has the winner’s name and the date engraved on the back. Additional information about the award.



We’re asking you to help us choose the ultimate Newbery winner! Our staff voted and came up with our Elite Eight and during January, we’re posting two books at a time and asking you to vote until one book reigns supreme.

Each time you vote, you’ll be entered into a random drawing to win a tote bag with an assortment of books.

Make sure to follow us on Facebook and remember to vote!

Staff picks

These are the eight finalists as chosen by Library staff members.

Book cover for Charlotte's Web
Charlotte’s Web
book cover for Bridge to Terabithia
Bridge to Terebithia
Book cover for A Wrinkle in Time
A Wrinkle in Time
Book cover for The Giver
The Giver
Book cover for Holes
Book cover for Because of Winn-Dixie
Because of Winn-Dixie
Book cover for Hatchet


Book cover for Ramon Quimby, Age 8
Ramona Quimby, Age 8

Booklovers Podcast episodes

Booklovers Podcast videos

Booklovers Podcast part 1 of 4
Part 1 of 4
Booklovers Podcast part 2 of 4
Part 2 of 4
Booklovers Podcast part 3 of 4
Part 3 of 4
Booklovers Podcast part 4 of 4
Part 4 of 4

Booklovers Podcast show notes



You can watch a broadcast of the ALA Youth Media Awards on January 24, 2022, at 9 AM here.

List of all previous years’ winners.

You might also enjoy