Online Book Club: Blood and Treasure by Bob Drury

Online Book Club: Blood and Treasure by Bob Drury

Online Book Club: What is it?

Join us for a book club that’s an entirely online experience.  All titles will be available as on-demand eBooks from Hoopla. They may also be available in other downloadable and physical formats.

We’ll use Zoom to meet virtually on the third Tuesday of each month at 7 PM to discuss our chosen book. 

Our first meeting is on June 21, at 7 PM.

Can’t make the meeting?

If you can’t make the meeting, that’s OK! Participate by reading the book, learning more about it from this post, and sharing your thoughts in the comments.

Book cover for Blood and Treasure
Blood and Treasure by Bob Drury

About Blood and Treasure

It’s the mid-eighteenth century, and in the thirteen colonies, anxious colonists desperate to conquer and settle North America’s “First Frontier” beyond the Appalachian Mountains commence a series of bloody battles. These violent conflicts are waged against the Native American tribes whose lands they covet, the French, and the mother country itself in an American Revolution destined to reverberate around the world.

This is the setting of Blood and Treasure, and the guide to this epic narrative is America’s first and arguably greatest pathfinder, Daniel Boone—not the coonskin cap-wearing caricature of popular culture but the flesh-and-blood frontiersman and Revolutionary War hero whose explorations into the forested frontier beyond the great mountains would become the stuff of legend. Now, thanks to painstaking research by two award-winning authors, the story of the brutal birth of the United States is told through the eyes of both the ordinary and larger-than-life men and women who witnessed it.

This is a fast-paced and fiery narrative, fueled by contemporary diaries and journals, newspaper reports, and eyewitness accounts. It’s a stirring chronicle of the conflict over America’s “First Frontier” that places the reader at the center of this remarkable epoch and its gripping tales of courage and sacrifice.

From Macmillan Publishers

Check out the book

Blood and Treasure is available from the Library in a variety of formats.

Bob Drury
Bob Drury

About the author, Bob Drury

Bob Drury is the recipient of several national journalism awards. He’s a three-time National Magazine Award finalist as well as a Pulitzer Prize nominee.

He honed his investigative skills by writing for all four New York City newspapers as well as a variety of national publications. His journalism career has arced from sports to crime to adventure travel to foreign correspondence. He has reported from Iraq, Afghanistan, Liberia, Bosnia, Northern Ireland, and Darfur among other sites.

He is also the author, co-author, or editor of ten non-fiction books, including Valley Forge and Lucky 666.

From Amazon.com

Readalikes for Blood and Treasure

Book cover for The Pioneers by David McCullough
The Pioneers by David McCullough

The Pioneers by David McCullough

This is the story of the settlers who began America’s migration west. They overcame almost-unimaginable hardships to build in the Ohio wilderness a town and a government that incorporated America’s highest ideals.

Book cover for Daniel Boone
Daniel Boone by John Mack Faragher

Daniel Boone by John Mack Faragher

Award-winning historian, John Mack Faragher, portrays America’s famous frontier hero while illuminating the American hero-making process itself in Daniel Boone.

Book cover for Daniel Boone: An American Life
Daniel Boone: An American Life by
Michael A. Lofaro

Daniel Boone: An American Life by Michael A. Lofaro

The embodiment of the American hero, the man of action, the pathfinder, Daniel Boone represents the great adventure of his age—the westward movement of the American people. Daniel Boone: An American Life brings together over thirty years of research in an extraordinary biography of the quintessential pioneer. Based on primary sources, the book depicts Boone through the eyes of those who knew him and within the historical contexts of his eighty-six years. The story of Daniel Boone offers new insights into the turbulent birth and growth of the nation and demonstrates why the frontier forms such a significant part of the American experience.

In closing

Enjoy chatting about books with other readers from the comfort of home when you join the Online Book Club. Join our Zoom chat on June 21, at 7 PM. Or share your thoughts below in the comments about Blood and Treasure.

You might also enjoy

Digital Specialist, social media enthusiast, content strategist, marketing aficionado, voracious reader.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.