Online Book Club: The End of the World Running Club

Online Book Club: The End of the World Running Club

Online Book Club – what is it?

Join us for a book club that’s an entirely online experience.  All titles will be available as on-demand eBooks from Hoopla. They may also be available in other downloadable and physical formats.

We’ll use Zoom to meet virtually on the third Tuesday of each month at 7 PM to discuss our chosen book. 

Our meeting is on Tuesday, November 15, 2022.

Can’t make the meeting?

If you can’t make the meeting, that’s OK! Participate by reading the book, learning more about it from this post, and sharing your thoughts in the comments.

Book cover for The End of the World Running Club by 
Adrian J. Walker
The End of the World Running Club by
Adrian J. Walker

About The End of the World Running Club

Edgar Hill is thirty-five, overweight, an underperforming husband, and a reluctant father.  After a catastrophic asteroid strike, Edgar and his family find refuge in an Edinburgh army barracks.  Returning from a salvage run, Edgar finds his family gone, taken to the south coast for evacuations by an international task force.  Edgar must race across the 550 miles of wasteland to find the people he loves before he loses them forever.

Check out The End of the World Running Club

Adrian J. Walker

About Adrian J. Walker

Adrian J. Walker is an author of speculative fiction who writes about the end of the world, hitmen, and foul-mouthed dogs.  His debut novel, The End of the World Running Club, became an international bestseller and was featured on BBC Radio 2s Book Club, with Simon Mayo. (From the author’s website)

Readalikes for The End of the World Running Club

Book cover for Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

One snowy night, a famous actor slumps over and dies onstage during a production of King Lear.  Hours later, the world as we know it slowly begins to dissolve.  Moving back and forth in time—from the actor’s early days as a film star to twenty years in the future, when a theater troupe known as the Traveling Symphony roams the wasteland of what remains—this elegiac novel charts the strange twists of fate that connect five people: the actor, the man who tried to save him, the actor’s wife, his oldest friend, and a young actress with the Traveling Symphony, caught in the crosshairs of a dangerous self-proclaimed prophet.

Book cover for After the Flood by Kassandra Montag
After the Flood by
Kassandra Montag

After the Flood by Kassandra Montag

A tale set in an anarchic near-future America of mountaintop colonies surrounded by rising oceans finds an independent woman trading for supplies and information about the daughter who was stolen from her eight years earlier.

Book cover for The Last Policeman by Ben H. Winters
The Last Policeman by Ben H. Winters

The Last Policeman by Ben H. Winters

When the Earth is doomed by an imminent and unavoidable asteroid collision, New Hampshire homicide detective Hank Palace considers the worth of his job in a world destined to end in six months and investigates a suspicious suicide that nobody else cares about.

In closing

Enjoy chatting about books with other readers from the comfort of your home when you join the Online Book Club. Join our Zoom chat on November 15th, at 7 PM. Or share your thoughts below in the comments about The End of the World Running Club.

You might also enjoy

Digital Specialist, social media enthusiast, content strategist, marketing aficionado, voracious reader.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *