Digital Resources by subject
Niche Academy has an array of helpful videos that will assist you in getting started with many online resources, databases, and downloadables.
View a complete alphabetical list of digital resources.
Business
Small Business Resource Center: Includes business plans, tax information, purchasing information and marketing plans – a comprehensive resource for information about owning a small business.
Items from our collection:
Other Resources
Clermont County Chamber of Commerce: Business advocacy organization that provides small business assistance.
EDGE: Program for socially and economically disadvantaged small business enterprises owned and operated by U.S. citizens who are Ohio residents.
U.S. Small Business Administration: Programs and services to help you start, grow, and succeed with your small business.
Small Business and Self-Employed Tax Center: Information from the IRS for small businesses and the self-employed.
Education + Homeschool
ABCmouse Home Access for Libraries: Online curriculum and learning activities for children available at the library and at home.
Academic Search Premier: Collection of academic and professional journals.
American and English Literature Collection: Collection of poetry, drama, and prose including the Bible.
Biography Reference Bank: Collection of biographical material from a variety of sources covering over 500,000 people.
CultureGrams: Concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural information on countries of the world. Beyond the facts and figures, find an insider’s perspective on history, daily life, and customs. Also covers US states and Canadian provinces.
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos (World Book): La óptima herramienta de referencia para principiantes del idioma español.
ERIC: Provides access to education literature and resources.
Explora for Primary Schools (Grades PreK-5): A trustworthy environment for students and educators in grades K through 5 to look up facts for class projects or homework.
Explora for Middle Schools (Grades 6-8): Includes full-text articles from popular, vocational, and trade magazines, full-text newspaper articles, along with images, videos, and primary sources. Lexile reading levels included.
Explora for Secondary Schools (Grades 9-12): A far better alternative to websites and search engines for students to look up articles and facts for research papers or homework.
Hispanica Saber: Gran Enciclopedia Hispanica (World Book): Esta es una completa Enciclopedia en idioma español que incluye mas de 100.000 artículos, más de 8.500 imágenes y mapas, y cerca de 1.000 vídeos, animaciones, sonidos, y medios interactivos.
Literary Reference Source: Contains plot summaries, literary criticism, author biographies and interviews, and the full text of thousands of poems and short stories.
MAS Ultra: School Edition:: Searchable database of articles for school research.
NoveList Plus: Provides information on over 150,000 fiction and non-fiction titles, and also offers a wide range of feature content including author readalikes, book discussion guides, reading lists and more.
NoveList Plus K-8: Discover fiction and non-fiction titles that are popular with young readers.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars.
Points of View Reference Source: Providing a balance of materials from all viewpoints, it also includes over 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Science Reference Source: Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife.
TOPICsearch: Allows users to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms.
Very Short Introductions: Offers concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas. For home use, click on link to log in using your library card.
World Book Early Book of Learning: Contains three learning environments, each targeting a critical area of the development of young learners in early elementary grades.
World Book Kids: Encyclopedia for children.
World Book Online Resource Center: Online version of the World Book Encyclopedia.
World Book Student: Includes the World Book Encyclopedia, the World Book Dictionary, and the World Book Atlas. It contains an extensive multimedia collection, including editor-selected websites, and correlations to state standards.
World Book Timelines: Discover and map important events with accurate information powered by World Book’s wealth of knowledgeable resources. There are over 400 interactive timelines to learn from.
Genealogy
Ancestry Library Edition: A genealogy research tool created for the library market. It provides researchers with instant access to a wide range of unique resources for genealogical and historical research. With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4000 databases, “Ancestry Library Edition” includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more! These collections are continuously expanding, with new content added every business day.
African American Heritage: Genealogy resource.
Fold3: Fold3® Library Edition is a collection of historical military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served from the Revolutionary War through recent conflicts. View video tutorial.
HeritageQuest: Used to conduct genealogical and historical research. U. S. Census records; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; petitions for naturalization; passenger lists and more. (Home access requires a library card).
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Cincinnati Enquirer (1841-2009): The Cincinnati Enquirer (1841 – 1922) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps: Large scale street plans including building outlines, property boundaries, and building use produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance Company from 1867-1970. Locate buildings and neighborhoods. See a neighborhood as it was. Study the growth of towns and cities. Identify the impact of new developments.
Request genealogical information: Ask reference staff a genealogical question.
Government
Census.gov: Discover populations, education trends, household incomes, gender breakdowns, and changes in communities over time.
Ohio Legal Help: Website to help all Ohioans access the civil justice system. Provides plain language legal help information, interactive self-help tools, and connections to local legal and community resources that can help people resolve their legal issues.
Ohio Revised Code: Explore the current statutes, provisions, titles, chapters, and sections of Ohio Law.
Pew Research Center: Discover trends ranging from politics, immigration, race, religion, generations, gender, family structure, economics, science, technology, and more.
Clermont County Townships
- Batavia Township
- Franklin Township
- Miami Township
- Monroe Township
- Pierce Township
- Stonelick Township
- Tate Township
- Union Township
- Washington Township
- Wayne Township
- Williamsburg Township
Clermont County Cities and Villages
Some villages in Clermont County do not have websites.
School Districts
- Batavia Local School District
- Bethel-Tate Local School District
- Clermont Northeastern Local School District
- Felicity-Franklin Local School District
- Goshen Local School District
- Milford Exempted Village School District
- New Richmond Exempted Village School District
- West Clermont Local School District
- Williamsburg Local School District
Additional Resources
Job Search
American Graduate – Getting to Work: A program designed to educate students and young adults about the skilled jobs local employers need to fill that require some training or education beyond high school, but not a four-year degree. The program also will connect interested young people with the training and educational pathways that lead to these high-demand skilled careers in industries like construction, healthcare, information technology, manufacturing, transportation, and logistics. American Graduate – Getting to Work is provided by CET, public television, and funded by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting.
AtoZdatabases: Online tool for job seekers and entrepreneurs. Includes: more than 7 million job listings, job search tips, business profiles with contact details, and residential databases.
BLS Career Occupational Handbook: Explore career trajectories, markets, growing fields, career outlooks, education, transitioning careers, and median pay in the current American workforce.
LinkedIn Learning for Library: Over 12,000 courses, ranging from computer programming to project management including instruction on various computer software, programming languages, and business topics. Learning paths are step-by-step structured courses, supported with quizzes, practice, and learning reminders to encourage you and support you as you make progress towards your goal.
OhioMeansJobs: Provides Ohioans with the ability to locate jobs throughout the state and to aid employers in finding qualified employees. The website allows individuals to access his or her skills, search for jobs, and post his or her resume. The website allows employers to search through resumes, post jobs for Ohio job seekers, and find programs to improve their workforce. Users create an account to access the website’s service.
Regional Business News: Articles from over 75 business journals, newspapers, and newswires, covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Vocational and Career Collection: Provides full-text coverage for nearly 350 trade and industry-related periodicals including American Machinist, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Video Business, Reeves Journal, Hotel, and Motel Management, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and much more.
Local History
Medical + Health
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition: Access to nearly 600 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
MedlinePlus: Discover health topics ranging from wellness, disorders, conditions, and treatments in an easy-to-understand format.
Merck Manual: Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news, and more, written in everyday language.
MyHealthfinder: Access easy-to-read treatments covering topics such as cancer, diabetes, cardiovascular health, obesity, pregnancy, nutrition, vaccinations, and alcohol use.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection: Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
PubMed: Journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences.
Traveler’s Health: Understand the current landscape of traveling, safety, and health concerns of different parts of the world.
US National Library of Medicine: Find authoritative peer-reviewed academic articles on a variety of health topics including medicine and conditions.
Research
Chilton Library: Offers the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. Library card needed for home access.
Computer Source: Access to the latest information and current trends in high technology.
EBSCOHost: See what’s available from EBSCO.
GreenFILE: Access to scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports about the environment.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition: Access to nearly 600 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
MasterFILE Premier: Provides full text from over 1,900 magazines – general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multicultural.
Newspaper Source: Read articles from newspapers around the country. Access industry-specific newspapers. Search TV and radio news transcripts.
Ohio Memory: Ohio’s past from prehistory through the present.
Ohio Web Library: Several searchable databases, many with Ohio-specific information.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Cincinnati Enquirer (1841-2009): Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Library card needed for home access.
Reference Solutions: Information about companies, industries, brands, and marketing.
Regional Business News: Articles from over 75 business journals, newspapers, and newswires, covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States
Religion and Philosophy Collection: Covers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.
Science Reference Source: Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife.
Sociological Collection: Provides information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.