Alt HealthWatch: Articles about complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health
Digital Resources
View a list of digital resources and websites arranged by subject.
A
ABCmouse Home Access for Libraries: Online curriculum and learning activities for children available at the library and at home.
Academic Search Premier: Collection of academic and professional journals.
African-American Heritage: Provides users a dedicated, user-friendly resource that not only brings together records critical to African American family research, but also connects them to a community of research experts.
American and English Literature Collection: Contain many works of poetry, drama, and prose from the 16th through 20th centuries. It includes the complete text of more than 200,000 poems, 2,000 plays, 100 works of prose, 11 major editions of Shakespeare’s works, and 21 editions of the Bible.
Ancestry Library Edition: Trace your genealogy using historical records. U. S. Census records; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; petitions for naturalization; passenger lists and more. *Available only in the library.*
AtoZdatabases: Online tool for job seekers and entrepreneurs. Includes: more than 7 million job listings, job search tips, business profiles with contact details, and residential databases.
Auto repair: Chilton Library: Offers the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. Library card needed for home access.
B
Biography Reference Bank: Access biographical information on more than 335,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines.
Business Source Premier: Boost your business knowledge by researching company and industry profiles, country and market research reports, and magazine articles.
C
Chilton Library: Access to repair, maintenance, and service information on the most popular cars, trucks, vans, and SUVs on the road today, as well as, many new vehicles. This continuously updated resource provides step-by-step repair procedures, troubleshooting guides, diagnostic trouble codes, photos, illustrations, diagrams, and multimedia (videos and animations) to simplify even the most complicated tasks. A library card is needed for home access.
Computer Source: Access to the latest information and current trends in high technology.
Consumer Health Complete: Browse medical, health-related and drug reference books. Read articles on health and fitness. Find sources for alternative health information.
CultureGrams: Concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural information on countries of the world. Beyond the facts and figures, find an insider’s perspective on history, daily life, and customs. Also covers US states and Canadian provinces.
D
Digital Public Library of America: Historic digital collections from libraries, museums, and archives across Ohio and more. The DPLA portal to photographs, maps, documents, and AV materials from across the country is a great starting place for your local history and genealogy reference.
E
EBSCOhost: Search thousands of magazines, academic journals, newspapers, reference books, photos, and maps on millions of topics.
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos (World Book): La óptima herramienta de referencia para principiantes del idioma español.
ERIC: Provides access to education literature and resources.
Explora for Primary Schools (Grades PreK-5): A trustworthy environment for students and educators in grades K through 5 to look up facts for class projects or homework.
Explora for Middle Schools (Grades 6-8): Includes full-text articles from popular, vocational, and trade magazines, full-text newspaper articles, along with images, videos, and primary sources. Lexile reading levels included.
Explora for Secondary Schools (Grades 9-12): A far better alternative to websites and search engines for students to look up articles and facts for research papers or homework.
F
Fold3: A premier collection of historical U.S. military records that brings to life the details of America’s military veterans with stories, photos, and personal documents.
G
GreenFILE: Access to scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports about the environment.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition: Access to nearly 600 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
HeritageQuest: Search census records, books, serials, and other historical records to trace your genealogy.
Hispanica Saber: Gran Enciclopedia Hispanica (World Book): Esta es una completa Enciclopedia en idioma español que incluye mas de 100.000 artículos, más de 8.500 imágenes y mapas, y cerca de 1.000 vídeos, animaciones, sonidos, y medios interactivos.
Hobbies and Crafts Source: Find “how-to” instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast.
Home Improvement Source: Features full-text content from leading home improvement magazines, images not found anywhere else online and videos of popular home repair projects.
K
L
LinkedIn Learning for Library: Self-directed online learning for technology, business, and creative skills. Access more than 12,000 video courses taught by industry experts to help you stay ahead in your current job or change careers.
Literary Reference Source: Contains plot summaries, literary criticism, author biographies and interviews, and the full text of thousands of poems and short stories.
M
MAS Ultra: School Edition:: Searchable database of articles for school research.
MASTERFILE Premier: Provides full text from over 1,900 magazines – general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multicultural.
MedlinePlus: Access to authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.
Merck Manual: Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news, and more, written in everyday language.
N
The New York Times: Enjoy free access to everything The New York Times offers, including News, Games, Cooking, Wirecutter and The Athletic. Inside the Library, visit nytimes.com with any device while using the Library’s WiFi and create an account. Outside the Library, visit the library’s dedicated URL to redeem a 24-hour access code.
Newspaper Source: Read articles from newspapers around the country. Access industry-specific newspapers. Search TV and radio news transcripts.
North Star Digital Literacy: Self-directed assessment and learning tool that covers a variety of technology scenarios. Find short lessons and practice exercises to improve skills on common computer topics such as email basics, Microsoft Word, and social media.
NoveList Plus: Provides information on over 150,000 fiction and non-fiction titles, and also offers a wide range of feature content including author readalikes, book discussion guides, reading lists and more.
Using NoveList in the catalog
Explore NoveList
NoveList Plus K-8: Discover fiction and non-fiction titles that are popular with young readers.
O
Ohio.gov: Government information and services.
Ohio Digital Network: Digital collections from libraries, museums, and archives across Ohio and the service hub for the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA).
Ohio Legal Help: Website to help all Ohioans access the civil justice system. Provides plain language legal help information, interactive self-help tools, and connections to local legal and community resources that can help people resolve their legal issues.
Ohio Means Jobs: Website to assist with career skills and job search.
Ohio Memory: Ohio’s past from prehistory through the present.
Ohio Web Library: Several searchable databases, many with Ohio specific information.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars.
P
Points of View Reference Source: Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this resource provides the basis from which students can realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Cincinnati Enquirer (1841-2009): Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Library card needed for home access.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection: Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
R
Regional Business News: Articles from over 75 business journals, newspapers, and newswires, covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Religion and Philosophy Collection: Covers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
S
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps: Find large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Locate and identify buildings and neighborhoods. Study the growth of towns and cities, and the impact of new development
Science Reference Source: Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources.
Sharp Collection: A digitized collection of photographic prints granted to the Clermont County Public Library by the family of Oscar H. Sharp–a local photographer. The collection contains varied historical images of Clermont County.
Small Business Source: Offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. Includes business videos, a help and advice section and details on how to create business plans.
Sociological Collection: Provides information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
T
TOPICsearch: Allows users to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms.
V
Very Short Introductions: An excellent way to get a quick authoritative and accessible overview of a subject. For home use, click on link to log in using your library card.
Vocational and Career Collection: Provides full text coverage for nearly 350 trade and industry-related periodicals.
W
What Tree Is It: Whether wandering through the woods or the neighborhood, users can use What Tree Is It? to identify their surrounding trees by leaf or fruit. Learn more by exploring trees by name.
What’s That Snake: For both budding naturalists and inadvertent encounters, What’s That Snake? will help anyone identify an Ohio snake in a few simple steps. Learn more by exploring Snakes by Name, a Snake FAQ, the Glossary, or Further Reading suggestions.
What’s The Point: By answering just a few questions, flint artifacts of Ohio can be identified as a blade, drill, point, or scraper and attributed to a likely era and people. Learn more by exploring the Glossary, Artifacts Index, or articles about Ohio’s Prehistoric People.
World Book Early World of Learning: Contains three learning environments, each targeting a critical area of the development of young learners in early elementary grades.
World Book Kids: offers simple search and browse navigation, easy to read articles with embedded multimedia, thousands of illustrations, and a wealth of engaging activities.
World Book Online Reference Center: Online version of the World Book Encyclopedia.
World Book Student: Includes the World Book Encyclopedia, the World Book Dictionary, and the World Book Atlas. It contains an extensive multimedia collection, including editor-selected websites, correlations to state standards.
World Book Timelines: Discover and map important events with accurate information powered by World Book’s wealth of knowledgeable resources. There are over 400 interactive timelines to learn from.
My Niche Academy has an array of helpful videos that will assist you in getting started with many online resources, databases, and downloadables.