9 Books to read if you love Eric Carle’s The Very Hungry Caterpillar

9 Books to read if you love Eric Carle’s The Very Hungry Caterpillar

Almost everyone has certainly read or at least heard of The Very Hungry Caterpillar. Whether you remember hearing the story as a child, or you read it to your children or grandchildren (over and over again), that tiny and very hungry caterpillar that morphs into a beautiful butterfly is a true literary icon. And even though the literary world lost a beloved author when Eric Carle passed away on May 23, 2021, his legacy lives on through the series The World of Eric Carle.

The World of Eric Carle books

The books in this series feature Carle’s signature collage-style artwork, with the bright and colorful illustrations his fans have come to love. The board books in this series are perfect for little hands to explore and enjoy time and time again. Some of the titles teach concepts like colors, shapes, and sounds, while others are great for practicing fine motor skills by lifting the flaps and using fingers to trace lines. You’ll also recognize that special very hungry caterpillar in each book. Check out some of the newest titles in the series at the library today!  

Book cover How Does a Caterpillar Change?
How Does a Caterpillar Change?

How Does a Caterpillar Change?

In this nonfiction story, young readers can explore the transformation of a caterpillar into a butterfly. The miracles of nature come to life in this early-learning series centered around life cycles, featuring simple text and Eric Carle’s classic illustrations!

Book cover for The Very Hungry Caterpillar Eats Lunch
The Very Hungry Caterpillar Eats Lunch

The Very Hungry Caterpillar Eats Lunch

The Very Hungry Caterpillar is very hungry . . . for lunch! With die-cut pages, a simple narrative, and beautiful artwork from Eric Carle, this interactive board book is the perfect way to introduce the midday meal.

Book cover for The Very Hungry Caterpillar Eats Breakfast
The Very Hungry Caterpillar Eats Breakfast

The Very Hungry Caterpillar Eats Breakfast

The Very Hungry Caterpillar is very hungry . . . for breakfast! With die-cut pages, a simple narrative, and beautiful artwork from Eric Carle, this interactive board book is the perfect way to introduce the most important meal of the day.

Book cover for The Very Hungry Caterpillar's First Spring
The Very Hungry Caterpillar’s First Spring

The Very Hungry Caterpillars First Spring

Young readers can learn all about seasonal sensory experiences, like watching clouds change shapes, feeling cool rain on your skin, sniffing fresh blooming flowers, and so much more!

Book cover for Can You Guess? Animal Sounds with The Very Hungry Caterpillar
Can You Guess? Animal Sounds with The Very Hungry Caterpillar

Animal Sounds with The Very Hungry Caterpillar

Can you guess all of the animal sounds? Luckily, The Very Hungry Caterpillar has helpful hints along the way! Children will love imitating the sounds of each of the animals in this sturdy board book. Eric Carle’s beautiful illustrations help bring the animals (and their sounds) to life on the page!

Book cover for Can You Guess? Food with The Very Hungry Caterpillar
Can You Guess? Food with The Very Hungry Caterpillar

Can You Guess? Food with The Very Hungry Caterpillar

Which fruit is yellow and tart? It’s a lemon! Use the close-up art to guess which food item will appear on the next page as The Very Hungry Caterpillar eats through this book, giving clues along the way. Eric Carle’s colorful illustrations are tasty and vibrant, bringing life to each page of this board book.

Book cover for A Day on the Farm with The Very Hungry Caterpillar
A Day on the Farm with The Very Hungry Caterpillar

A Day on the Farm with The Very Hungry Caterpillar

It’s a sunny day on the farm with The Very Hungry Caterpillar! Who will he meet? From horses near the big red barn to little ducklings in a pond, discover new farmyard friends in this tabbed board book with easy-to-flip tabs, easy-to-read text, and easy-to-love Eric Carle art.

Book cover for The Very Hungry Caterpillar's Forest Hide & Seek
The Very Hungry Caterpillar’s Forest Hide & Seek

The Very Hungry Caterpillar’s Forest Hide & Seek

Who is in the forest where it’s bright and sunny? Busy, buzzing bees making tasty honey! Play hide-and-seek with The Very Hungry Caterpillar in this fantastic finger trail lift-the-flap book! With a gentle rhyming narrative and an introduction to woodland friends, this book is perfect for little explorers.

Book cover for Eric Carle's Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star & Other Nursery Rhymes
Eric Carle’s Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star & Other Nursery Rhymes

Eric Carle’s Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star & Other Nursery Rhymes

With a lift-the-flap on every spread, this board book is the perfect way to revisit five classic nursery rhymes: “Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star,” “Old MacDonald Had a Farm,” “Hickory Dickory Dock,” “The Itsy-Bitsy Spider,” and “The Wheels on the Bus.”

In closing

Can’t get enough Eric Carle? Even more board books in The World of Eric Carle will be released! Look for new titles at your favorite Clermont County Library branch, and make sure to keep up with our Coming Soon lists to see what’s new at the Library. You can place holds to ensure you don’t miss out on everything Eric Carle.

You might also enjoy

Digital Specialist, social media enthusiast, content strategist, marketing aficionado, voracious reader.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.