Education and Homeschool
Databases
ABCmouse Home Access for Libraries: Online curriculum and learning activities for children available at the library and at home.
Academic Search Premier: Collection of academic and professional journals.
American and English Literature Collection: Collection of poetry, drama, and prose including the Bible.
Biography Reference Bank: Collection of biographical material from a variety of sources covering over 500,000 people.
CultureGrams: Concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural information on countries of the world. Beyond the facts and figures, find an insider’s perspective on history, daily life, and customs. Also covers US states and Canadian provinces.
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos (World Book): La óptima herramienta de referencia para principiantes del idioma español.
ERIC: Provides access to education literature and resources.
Explora for Primary Schools (Grades PreK-5): Includes full-text articles from the most popular children’s magazines and eBook content from top children’s publishers as well as encyclopedia entries from Funk & Wagnalls. Lexile reading levels included.
Explora for Middle Schools (Grades 6-8): Includes full-text articles from popular, vocational, and trade magazines, full-text newspaper articles, along with images, videos, and primary sources. Lexile reading levels included.
Explora for Secondary Schools (Grades 9-12): Offers full-text articles from thousands of magazines, journals, and newspapers on various subjects, along with images, videos, and primary sources. Lexile reading levels included.
Hispanica Saber: Gran Enciclopedia Hispanica (World Book): Esta es una completa Enciclopedia en idioma español que incluye mas de 100.000 artículos, más de 8.500 imágenes y mapas, y cerca de 1.000 vídeos, animaciones, sonidos, y medios interactivos.
Literary Reference Source: Contains plot summaries, literary criticism, author biographies and interviews, and the full text of thousands of poems and short stories.
MAS Ultra: School Edition:: Searchable database of articles for school research.
NoveList Plus: Provides information on over 150,000 fiction and non-fiction titles, and also offers a wide range of feature content including author readalikes, book discussion guides, reading lists and more.
NoveList Plus K-8: Discover fiction and non-fiction titles that are popular with young readers.
Points of View Reference Source: Providing a balance of materials from all viewpoints, it also includes over 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Science Reference Source: Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology, and wildlife.
TOPICsearch: Allows users to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms.
Very Short Introductions: Offers concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas. For home use, click on link to log in using your library card.
World Book Early Book of Learning: Contains three learning environments, each targeting a critical area of the development of young learners in early elementary grades.
World Book Kids: Encyclopedia for children.
World Book Online Resource Center: Online version of the World Book Encyclopedia.